Washington Conference

The History of the Washington Annual Conference

The Washington Annual Conference of the African Methodist Episcopal Church has been in existence for some 60 years. It grew out of the Baltimore Conference which, until 1951, had been one of the larger Conferences in the AME church, serving the State of Maryland, the city of Baltimore and the District of Columbia. In 1951, the Baltimore Annual Conference, at its 134th Session, decided that its work was not effective as it should be, and the Committee on Stations, Circuits and Missions presented the following resolution, which was adopted:

Therefore be it resolved firstly that the churches in the following counties be taken out of the Baltimore Conference and form the Washington Conference:

The Prince Georges, Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Frederick and Montgomery Counties, and further efforts be made to organize churches in the underdeveloped Allegheny County. Be it further resolved that the following Districts will compose the new Washington Conference: The Potomac District, the Hagerstown District, and the Capitol District. The following churches will compose the Potomac District: Metropolitan, Brown, Campbell, Wheaton, Ebenezer, Allen-Garfield, Galesville, Charlotte Hall, Mt. Nebo, Lincoln, Jessup, DuPont and Lakeland. The following churches will compose the Hagerstown District: Ebenezer (Baltimore), Allen (Baltimore), Mt. Moriah, Cumberland, Petersville, Frostburg. The following churches will compose the Capitol District: Turner Memorial, Tee Bee, Frederick, Pilgrim, Ward, Kensington, Elkridge, Parole, Wayman-Good Hope, Wayman-Baltimore, St. Paul, Davis Memorial, Mt. Pleasant and Bladensburg.

In 1980, the Hagerstown District was dissolved and the churches added to the Capitol District and the Potomac District, forming the current structure of the Washington Annual Conference. Four Bishops have been elected from the Washington Conference Bishops G. Dewey Robinson, Frank Madison Reid, Jr., Robert L. Pruitt, and William P. DeVeaux.

Since its inception, the Washington Annual Conference has been a vibrant institution. It has expanded from 41 to some 81 churches, circuits and stations, and the Conference continues to grow.